Edward Says: Moses, Pharaoh, Some Lobster Guy, and a Kid in an Orange Shirt

Kids really do say the darndest things

Eddie Mrowka
The Ant
3 min readMar 23, 2018

--

The Ant illustration

A staple of The Ant moving forward will be short pieces based on things my son says. In part, to provide an avenue for me to capture some of the things he says in a forum where they can live on forever, but also to provide my readers (former parents, current parents, future parents) with a trigger to jog their memories of the things their kids said, pay more attention now to the things their kids do say, or prepare for not missing out on all the things their kids will say one day. And if you weren’t a parent, aren’t a parent, or have absolutely zero desire to be a parent, that’s okay, because you may still find the things said to be humorous, touching, or downright, unbelievably crazy.

I love that lobster guy so much.

You too would love a guy who lived at the beach, had pinchers, and carried around a bucket full of butter.

Moses had friends named Poses, Toses, Ken, Ben, and AJ.

We got Edward his first Bible for Christmas. The one day he sat on my lap and wanted me to read him the entire thing. Don’t worry, it’s a kids Bible with pictures, so I did not actually read my son the entire Bible cover to cover in one sitting, but we did read his entire Bible. Once we finished with baby Moses and began to learn about adult Moses, Edward proceeded to tell me that Moses had friends named Poses, Toses, Ken, Ben, and AJ. Perhaps Moses and the five of them played 3-on-3 basketball together growing up. In any event, I’m just thankful I learned about his friends.

I like Pharaoh.

Minutes after hearing all about Moses and his friends, Edward told me he liked Pharaoh. I kind of cringed when he told me and considered telling him Pharaoh may not be the guy we want to cheer for, but then thought better of it assuming this is likely just a stage unless my son tells me next he likes Magneto and General Zod.

Let me tell you something, Papa. My one friend was here. His name is Huke. He was over there in the orange shirt.

I’ve honestly never met Huke. And I had no idea he was over at our house. I don’t know if he has a brother named Luke or if he plans to attend Duke. The only thing I can go by is that he was a friend of Edward’s at some point, he was in my house without my knowledge, and he must have a pretty sweet orange shirt.

--

--

Eddie Mrowka
The Ant

The Ant 🐜 Aspiring writer. Married to my best friend. Papa to our 2 amazing sons. Stories & conversations.