Mayweather-McGregor May Be a Spectacle but It’s a Must-See Event

It doesn’t matter if you’re a fan of boxing or MMA or if you actually believe McGregor has any shot to stun Mayweather — by ignoring this fight you risk missing what could turn out to be the greatest upset in our lifetime

Eddie Mrowka
The Ant
6 min readAug 24, 2017

--

Instagram/The Ant illustration

MMost would say I have absolutely no business writing this. For starters, I’m really not a fan of boxing. In my opinion, mixed martial arts (MMA) is way more interesting and exciting. If it was Floyd Mayweather versus any other boxer, the likelihood of me tuning in would have been slim. Conor McGregor being the one to fight him is the draw here. Not only do we have the biggest star in MMA going toe-to-toe with one of the greatest fighters in boxing history, but we aren’t mixing their crafts. McGregor is walking into Mayweather’s sport at a total disadvantage. To me, the unknown, is what’s most exciting, even though there are many people who view this fight as nothing more than a farce, as Bryan Curtis excellently wrote in his piece.

Additionally, my history with boxing does not run deep. Ali was before my time. The greatest years of Tyson’s career occurred when I was too young, and the single biggest memory I have of him was biting Holyfield’s ear. The most memorable boxing fights I can recall all took place in Rocky, Rocky II, Rocky IV, and Creed. If there was ever a fighter I wanted to emulate in my childhood years, it was Rocky Balboa. And as an adult man, I still get goosebumps watching Michael B. Jordan in those trailers.

I’m also barely a writer (at this time), not a credentialed journalist with either boxing or MMA to cover this fight from anywhere other than my couch, and the chances of anyone (other than family and friends) reading this piece is highly unlikely. But… I am one of the 4+ million pay-per-view (PPV) buys Mayweather-McGregor is hoping to receive. (And dependent upon what outlet you read, some actually believe this fight does more than 4.6 million PPV buys.) So when I talk of this being a must-see event, I’m writing from the vantage point of just a regular guy. There are no strings attached, to my knowledge I am not being compensated in any way for writing here (although if McGregor and/or Mayweather want to send some “thank you money” my way, I’ll gladly accept), and the only reward I stand to gain is hopefully convincing some on-the-fence buddies to watch with me. I write this piece as someone genuinely, truly excited for Saturday night because we’re a part of this fight’s history and we have the opportunity to witness history in the making.

WWhat if McGregor actually does what he predicts he’s going to do? And I don’t just mean win. Conor is calling his shot and claiming he will finish Mayweather inside 4 rounds. What if he does that? Can you imagine witnessing an MMA fighter in his first professional boxing bout ever not only defeat the undefeated, 49–0 boxing legend but do so in dramatic fashion! And to take it a step further, now that this fight is officially commissioned with 8oz gloves, McGregor and his team believe they might be able to stop Mayweather in the very first round. What if that happens? Can you even imagine!

It truly is the allure of this fight. It’s also the reason most say Floyd has everything to lose in this fight with very little to gain (outside of a humongous payday) while Conor has practically nothing to lose with the ability to gain the most impressive win in the history of fighting (and quite possibly sports). Despite the massive payday, some credit is due Mayweather for his willingness to risk his legacy (which will be impacted if he loses) and provide McGregror with the biggest opportunity of his lifetime.

I don’t believe I’m alone in my feelings, and my basis for those beliefs is the overwhelming excitement from people who aren’t typically fight fans. There are several different groups of people in my life (and I would venture a guess to say it’s similar for others) who are neither boxing fans nor MMA fans, yet they’re making arrangements to watch this fight. They are convinced Mayweather-McGregor is worthy of both their time (which you’ll never get back) and money (which they could spend elsewhere) because it’s a must-see event, and believe missing this once-in-a-lifetime spectacle would be something they’d regret one day. So they’re tuning in from vacation and physically making arrangements to watch compared to doing other vacation-oriented things. There’s droves of people throwing catered house parties or buying a seat at a bar for $30 just to see what happens when Floyd and Conor touch gloves.

CCall it nothing more than hype if you will, but the marketing and promotion for this fight has worked. As is with every big boxing or MMA event, celebrities, athletes, and true fight fans will be in attendance, but the reach extends far beyond your typical audience. Those people mentioned earlier who are only watching because of the magnitude that is Mayweather-McGregor, are doing so because it’s the right fight being marketed and promoted. Nobody wants to see Mayweather versus Pacquiao II. Floyd himself said he would only come out of retirement for one fight and one fight only: Conor McGregor. Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) President Dana White has stated this fight was only made because the fans and media wanted to see it. They’re the driving force behind this train that finally pulls into the station at the T-Mobile Arena on Saturday night, August 26, 2017.

Mike Fight Promo/Caution: Some explicit language in video

These trailers still give me chills each time I watch them. History happens Saturday night. Those of us who tune in will be treated to, yes, a spectacle, but it may wind up being a moment in time talked about for years to come. Your grandchildren will ask you where you were when McGregor stunned the world or when Mayweather-McGregor put on one of the greatest wars inside the boxing ring. Yes, the possibility exists for this to be a complete waste of your $99.95 as some are saying, but it’s also possible to be worth every penny if Conor knocks out Floyd or the two of them provide the world with a 12-round showcase that leaves us breathless.

Mike Fight Promo/Caution: Some explicit language in video

Both men stand to make life-changing money. Mayweather has the chance to round out his impressive career at 50–0 — the man that never lost. McGregor has the chance to turn boxing upside down and make himself a living legend. As viewers, we do risk another boxing dud, but do have the chance to witness something never-before-seen in our lifetimes or lifetimes to come. To me, it’s worth the price of admission. The benefits outweigh the risk.

--

--

Eddie Mrowka
The Ant

The Ant 🐜 Aspiring writer. Married to my best friend. Papa to our 2 amazing sons. Stories & conversations.