Plane Ride Very Awkward for United Employee Who Took Passenger’s Seat.

Mackenzie Carson Soukup
The Anthem Sprinters
2 min readApr 11, 2017

On Sunday, an overbooked United flight turned into a disturbing scene of excessive force as a man was dragged off the flight to make room for airline employees flying standby. This, however, doesn’t hold a candle to the awkwardness experienced by the employee that replaced him for the flight. Holden Dale reports that it was the single worst plane ride of his entire life.

“As soon as I boarded the plane I could feel the hostility.” Dale told us. “At this point I was unaware of what had happened. I just took the open seat. The glares I got will haunt me for the rest of my life.”

Passengers silently formed a united front against Dale, ensuring that his trip was not a pleasant one.

“First, the guys on either side of me -I was in the middle seat- aggressively wouldn’t share the armrests.” said Dale. “I just thought they were dicks. But pretty soon I realized they were all in on it.”

Dale’s troubles had only begun. Though the flight from Chicago to Louisville, was only a little under two hours, to Dale it felt like a lifetime.

“The guy behind me took it upon himself to kick the back of my seat relentlessly!” reported Dale. “Then when I got up to use the restroom I got tripped in the isle 6 different times. And, even though I can’t prove it, people were farting near me on purpose, I swear to God!”

When Dale found out why he was being treated this way, it only added to his confusion.

“There were three other employees on that flight with me!” he explained. “Why weren’t they tormented? I just happened to get the seat of the guy that got dragged out! That’s not my fault!”

When asked what the worst act of harassment on that flight was, Dale replied “Probably dragging that doctor off the plane. That was a dick move.”

--

--

Mackenzie Carson Soukup
The Anthem Sprinters

Dream Job: Lighthouse Caretaker / Writer for the Onion / Luchador.