The Appreciative Minimalist

A Relaxed Guide to Digital Minimalism

Instantly free up more time.

The Appreciative Minimalist
3 min readMay 30, 2019

--

If you find yourself in a hole. Stop digging.

Smart phones can now tell you if you’re over indulging in digital media. The issue is not how much time we are spending where we are spending it.

Spend digital time where it matters

I’m a technology person. Always have been. I love using technology to make things, to learn and better my understanding in new topics, and often to indulge for many hours at a time until my eyes go bright red.

In fact my right eye right now is itchy. I’m sure it’s red. I’m using a 15" Macbook with the brightness all the way down, the ‘night shift’ is on and I’m using a Google Chrome plugin to change Medium from a white background to black with white text.

But I love it.

And if I love it, it’s worth it. Because I believe you should spend your time where it matters to you.

Be productive

Is using digital devices with screens worse than using the software running on them? No, because the software is a tool, not a digital device.

--

--

The Appreciative Minimalist

Product designer ⭐️ Father 🤹 Creator/Collector/collaborator 🎭