Why film school did not work for me: 5 steps for beginners, make your film and skip film school.

TÓMASDÓTTIR
The Art Content Creation
6 min readSep 26, 2019

The idea of how to become a filmmaker after watching a film or tv show is very common for creative people me included. But is it necessary to go to film school to become a filmmaker and what can you do to become one?

My answer to the first question is NO you do not need film school to become a filmmaker, some things like networking could be of use or when looking for crew members but overall is unnecessary to go attend a films school if you have a real passion for film and storytelling.

I am a film critic with a degree in film studies from the University of Iceland and a freelance video editor who work as a motion graphic designer. I went to film school and decided to quit after the first semester. I realized that I could make small stories come to live without going to Cannes and that I could bring my stories to any film festival I was interested in. I also got a diploma in web development. I am not saying NO to education. Education helped me to know how to research improve and see mistakes were other people do not see it. I am saying film schools are not the type of education I need it. Follow your dream. Most of the film education is private and therefore they try to profit out of their students. Yes, we dream they profit.

I know it sounds like a dream to go to film school but it was not so much fun for me to spend money on a school that each semester costs more than a digital camera. I also felt that to work on the school projects were as much a struggle as to make one on my own.

After the first question is answered and my opinion has been shared, you may ask yourself then How to become one?

The silent era (1891–1928), was all about the magic of cinema and it was an industry for a few to watch and few to be part of but good news to you my friend that is in the past and today everyone has access to the technology of film. You and I are very lucky, we can have it all: magic, watch and create. So if you want to become a filmmaker you are about to read the right post. Only for you my friend. Here are 5 easy steps and 2 tips to follow so you can start just as soon as you have time.

  1. Decide the genre of your film

Choose a genre that you feel inspired about for example drama, horror, romance or just what you feel is relatable to you so that you can get the most out of it. This can help you bring the best out of your subjects if you understand the emotions that are involved.

2. Create a script and organize your scenes

Write on a paper the idea for the film or download an old script film that you want to reproduce. If you decide to write from beginning to end remember to write in detail the main actions on the scene. For example, what type of transition the scene starts on, the angle of the camera, the type of shot, the scenography and what are the characters doing or saying.

3. Get the actors and location ready

To bring the script to live you need actors who play the parts. Film productions are based on subjects that portray the reality of someone. You can find actors in many ways. Talk to your friends, post on facebook or even create a facebook group around your film. For collaboration you can go to films students, they want to act.

Finding the location is the easy part, you can use your bedroom, you can shoot outdoors, you can film in a park, only remember that some areas are restricted and you may not be allowed to film without getting permission first.

My advice is to try to shoot in public spaces and do not focus on the strangers.

4. Prepare Camera, light and zoom ready

We live in an era where technology gives us freedom of choice and you do not need to be restricted in following old patterns or do things the traditional way. You are the filmmaker, that means you can feel free to make a film the way you want. But don’t forget that the camera is not the only thing on set. You need to set the microphones and really think about lighting on the set.

The lights of the room sometimes are not enough but if you align your subject correctly it will do. The type of your camera is not so important, try to get these two right and you are ready to film the next best short for the film festival.

„Remember audiences forgive bad image quality but they never forgive bad audio“

5. Decide which software to use for after production.

This is my favourite part. The software can help you enhance any type of images you just shot with your camera. There is a variety of software on the market but some of them are expensive, one of them is Adobe Premiere Pro you can buy for like $20.99 a month as a subscription.

Good news for you my friend, Blender is free and is a motion editor as well. If I were you I will go for it and learn the software and start earning money as a video maker and freelancer.

Here is a Premiere Pro vs Blender comparison

In my opinion Premiere Pro is a must-have but Blender is a tool that is worth to try.

Now my tips:

  1. To become a filmmaker is not rocket science. Here is tip number one. As I mentioned in another post it is important to just do it. After you get all your story, equipment and actors ready you are good to go. What you will need is confidence and some sleepless night to do it.
  1. Nowadays we do not need distributing companies. Youtube is free, and if you are more than adventurous use unknown platforms like twitch or facebook to live stream your work. Remember that films are like gifts to the world people care about the story more than they care in which package it came.

3. Check out film transitions. You can learn them on youtube tutorials or just reading about it:

Becoming a filmmaker has to be rewarding for you as well as magical and important for your audience.

Do not just listen to me. Listen to those who just went for it, they trust their instinct and were crazy enough to just do it!

I enjoy editing films and making short marketing videos. Experimenting with making films is fun, I am sure you will find your way to do it too.

--

--