Slow Cognition: The Model of Curated Mind

Oliver Ding
Curativity Center
Published in
6 min readMar 21, 2022

--

Eight Operational Concepts for developing the Curated Mind framework

Photo by VD Photography on Unsplash

On March 15, 2022, I published an article about the notion of “Curated Mind”. In the past week, I discussed the notion with several friends.

If you follow my articles, you probably know that my major theoretical interests are Ecological Psychology, Activity Theory, and similar Social Practice theories.

In July 2020, I wrote an article titled The NICE Way and Creative Actions, then I left the field of Creativity and Creative Actions and moved to the field of social practices.

My question is, if we can generate many creative actions, how can we grow them into real social innovations? This question led me to work on the Activity U project and wrote the book Project-oriented Activity Theory.

Though I work on Activity Theory and similar social practices, I am not satisfied with their approach to cultural innovation. They claim that social development is driven by problems-based innovation. I think the non-problem idea could develop into a real concept too. Cultural Innovations can be driven by problem-solution ideas and play-for-fun ideas too.

One reason for my argument is that I spent over five years watching my kid’s childhood and I found there are many “creative actions” in their…

--

--

Oliver Ding
Curativity Center

Founder of CALL(Creative Action Learning Lab), information architect, knowledge curator.