The Genidentity of Activity Theory

Oliver Ding
Curativity Center
Published in
7 min readJun 1, 2024

--

A short note

I have reflected on Activity Theory many times. On April 22, 2022, I used a technique called “Deep Analogy” to reflect on the historical development of Activity Theory.

On May 31, 2024, I worked on editing a possible book titled Center, Circle, and Genidentity. I realized that the case study is a good example of General Genidentity Theory.

On April 21, 2022, I worked in a room without the Internet. I read a thesis which was written by an activity theorist who is researching design.

From 2020 to 2022, I read many papers and books about Activity Theory. I also wrote two books-in-drafts about Activity Theory and built a website called Activity Analysis.

However, I still captured a significant insight while I was reading a piece about the historical development of Activity Theory in the thesis.

I started working in my notebook and drew a diagram with the “Deep Analogy” technique. On April 22, 2022, I reproduced the diagram on Milanote. You can find more details on this

--

--

Oliver Ding
Curativity Center

Founder of CALL(Creative Action Learning Lab), information architect, knowledge curator.