What is common amongst the people in the photo?

Eliminating The Distraction

Zharia Jones
The Art of Multi-tasking

--

Society has come a long way technologically. The most common distraction in our lives is our cellphone, more specifically the smartphone. With the development of the smartphone came social media. Social Media is the biggest distraction when it comes to our phones. Whether you have Snapchat, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter or all four.. if you didn’t know before I’m here to tell you now it’s all a distraction. Anything that doesn’t require your immediate attention is a distraction. Nowadays being on your phone, although against the law in some states, has become a very regular and unsafe sight. Texting and driving is an example of switch tasking, not multitasking and it’s not okay. However, in the workplace distractions may occur differently. For example, you can pick up your phone to check the time and next thing you know you’re checking your messages. A simple solution to this specific problem is to wear a watch. The watch will prevent you from reaching for your phone because you have a device that readily available to give you what you need.

The only way to address an issue with distraction and focus is to eliminate it. Multitasking can’t exist if distractions persist. As an experiment, I will turn my notifications off for all my social media applications. This will challenge me to stay focused because if my notifications are off then there are no distractions. More so, no digital distractions because there will be nothing on my phone that will require my attention. Since I have major midterms coming up this challenge should positively affect my studying habits. I plan to incorporate multitasking into my studying. I plan on doing this by making flashcards as I do practice problems while watching videos relating to the subject I’m studying.

Remember that multitasking requires focus and time management. I challenge you to turn all your notifications off for social media applications to test your productivity. Did you continue to reach for your phone or were you focused?

--

--