The Fork In the Creative Road

Lyle Foxman
The Art Spirit
Published in
1 min readMay 3, 2018

Why

and

How

There is the fork in the road for me as an artist. Art has always been “HOW”…How can I get better? How can I get people to buy my work? How can I get people to choose me?

This is destructive to anyone creative. It makes you constantly self critical…. comparing yourself to others, getting disappointed when nobody buys your art or shows up. You either quit or get back up.

I quit…almost ten years, but the call of creativity or what Robert Henri calls the “Art Spirit” was too strong. This time around I am taking a different path in the road by starting with “WHY”.

Why am I doing this is not about the end expectation or result. It is about the process, not the end product or a way to make a living. It is a daily practice of creating, being mindful and aware.

My why is now my driving force on the right road, maybe it will take a little longer, obstacles and a lot of rough patches…but at least I’m going in the right direction.

Http://lylefoxman.com

--

--