Are free digital downloads any use to build a business?

Graham Saxby
The Artful Photographer
2 min readMay 30, 2024

--

Is Gumroad the right path for me?

British Birds Set 1 by Graham Saxby

So I’ve launched my first digital product. It’s available free on Gumroad. Well actually it’s on a ‘Pay what you want’ which of course includes paying nothing.

Sometime ago I decided to offer free smartphone wallpaper digital downloads of my fine art prints, on my website store. The idea was to help validate the quality of the work, to gain interest and the continue to build an email following.

It hasn’t been as successful as I had hoped. Certainly I didn’t use any paid advertising as my whole approach is of content marketing and organic growth. It’s all an experiment really. I don’t expect instant results with no advertising and low volume content marketing. The first of my sets of 5 images available as Smartphone Wallpaper through my Gumroad site.

This is British Birds Set 1. Actually these are from the Open Edition Collection whose prints are only available in the UK.

I have been wondering which prints to select my next smartphone wallpaper set of 5 from and I think I’ve just answered my own question. It will be from the Limited Edition Collection. But which five prints to choose from? All suggestions gratefully received. The link to my site is below.

--

--

Graham Saxby
The Artful Photographer

Published photographer & visual strategist with work featured in museums, magazines, airports & international TV broadcast.