6 Lessons From a Full-Time Writer

Six lessons learned over 4+ years of writing content and copy.

Eva Gutierrez đź’ˇ
Ascent Publication
4 min readOct 18, 2019

--

Eva Gutierrez

No introduction, no conclusion, just the content you clicked on this article to see.

1. You’re going to burn out, and it’s okay.

As a full-time freelance writer, I inevitably burn out. And as a full-time person, you’re going to burn out too. This happens when we say “yes” too eagerly and end up with so much on our plates that our brains starts to feel like it’s going to combust.

When this happens, my immediate reaction is to tell myself to keep going and to “smh” at myself for allowing the burn out to become real. For some reason, I feel like I can overcome it with a super human strength that is going to magically appear within me.

It doesn’t appear.

Our strengths are understanding when we are weak, and letting ourselves rest so we can come back ready for more. This works every single time.

2. Always give yourself more time than you think you’ll need.

Knowing that burn out is inevitable has taught me to always buffer my deadlines. If I know I can have an article written in four days, I’ll put the deadline for 7 days.

In 2+ years, I have never missed a client deadline and I don’t intend to anytime soon. Part of being a client’s go-to freelance writer is making sure they can rely on you.

Buffer for the unexpected.

3. Project management or don’t freelance.

Having a system to organize your projects isn’t going to help you be a great freelancer. It’s the reason you are a great freelancer.

When I first started writing, I had all of my deadlines neatly categorized in my head. Yes, I thought that my brain was going to be able to keep track of deadlines, emails, and small to-dos.

Don’t fall under the same assumption.

This is so possibly far from the truth that I can’t even believe that at one point I thought this was a good idea.

Google Calendar and my Notes app are the backbone of my business.

Note: I tried using Trello this week and found it to make my life way harder. Anyone have tips on how to use Trello as a freelancer with 2+ clients at a time? Send me a DM (I beg you).

4. Memorize Your Elevator Pitch.

You know what people have a lot of trouble fathoming as a career? Being a writer. Your Uber driver is going to have questions. Your Grandma is going to have questions. Your friends are going to have questions.

The best way to combat these questions is with a one-line answer that explains what you do and who you do it for. Here’s my elevator pitch,

“I write copy and content for businesses to use on their website.”

Now, if you get into specific, I write copy and content that goes to many more places than a client’s website—but as a general answer, this has always gotten the warmest reaction.

People are able to conceptualize “write” and “website” and, even with zero digital marketing experience, can somewhat understand what you do. The people who want to hire you, will immediately understand what you do and just opened the door for them to ask you questions to see if you’re the right fit for them.

5. Learn, learn, and learn some more.

Anybody thinking they can be a great writer without reading is poorly mistaken. I’ll take this a step further and say that you should probably have book (printed or ebook) in hand so that you can see how someone is writing—versus listening to it as an audio book.

By reading, you’re keeping yourself in the School of Writing. If there’s anything a great writer wants to do, it’s to always be growing their writing skill. We want to be better writers, able to convey more difficult messages in simpler ways.

To do so, you need to learn how others are doing it and see how that fits into your writing style. You can even find a writing mentor who will teach you specifically.

Read, read, read.

6. Rewrite great writing.

This is a copywriting strategy—copywriters will rewrite sales funnels to train their mind to write in that story telling style and convincing tone. I just started doing this and it’s made a monumental difference.

If your client comes to you and wants you to write an article for them similar to what they have on their website, go to their website and rewrite an article they’ve written. Word for word, letter by letter—type the article out with your own fingers.

Directly after, start writing the article they paid you for.

How easy is it to write in their style and tone?

Train your mind, train your fingers, and nail your content and copy on the first draft.

--

--

Eva Gutierrez đź’ˇ
Ascent Publication

Weekly thought exercises inspired by mental models, psychology principles, and questions from successful entrepreneurs. ➡️ ThinkWithAI.com