10 Simple Financial Tips that Helped Me Improve My Relationship with Money

Ray Johnson
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readDec 13, 2018

--

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Since graduating college, it seems like I have been engaged in a very intense game of hide and seek with my money. My birthday passed recently, and it made me realize I have essentially been living paycheck to paycheck for the last 3 years. Because of this, I have committed myself to gaining more financial intelligence in any way I can.

I’ve gotten money management and savings tips from Youtube channels like The Financial Diet, restructured the way I look at income and earnings through reading Rich Dad, Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki, and even spoken to a financial adviser about retirement and credit.

(I won’t add any links because I do not mean to endorse anyone, this is just what helped me. And please keep in mind this is just a condensed list of sources I drew from.) Through these sources, and my own trial and error, I have come up with a few actionable tips that have helped me improve my relationship with money.

I realize that many people will look at this advice as elementary level, but think of it as a beginner’s guide to understanding financial literacy. We all had to start somewhere, and if you’re like me, you literally can’t afford to be passive about your finances any more.

Decide if you value Financial Independence

--

--

Ray Johnson
Ascent Publication

I write about all things Money 💸 and Personal Growth🌱.