13 Lessons I Learned About Relationships While Traveling Abroad

Andrea A
Ascent Publication
Published in
19 min readOct 2, 2018

--

Several months ago, I was at a crossroads.

My 4-year relationship came to an end.

It was with someone I shared a strong connection with.

Who complemented my personality, but whose priorities were different than mine.

It was a mutual break up but still very painful.

Because we both left loving one another.

Then came the huge void that needed to be filled.

I knew I couldn’t emotionally invest in anyone and wasn’t willing to take part in meaningless flings either.

It was selfish to drag someone along for the ride.

To use another person as an emotional or physical crutch (aka rebound) when I wasn’t in the right headspace.

Even if that ride entailed something “simple simple”.

It was all or nothing with me, so I opted out.

I chose to swipe right on experiences and personal growth instead.

A decision that lead me to turning the “what ifs” into “why nots”.

--

--

Andrea A
Ascent Publication

Former content manager. Writing from the heart, editing from the brain. Sharing “aha” moments and uncomfortable truths one story at a time.