16 Little Lessons I Learned From Dating A “Nice Guy”

Because nice guys don’t always finish last.

Kirstie Taylor
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by André Luís Rocha on Unsplash

Two years ago, I went on a date with a guy who I knew through a group of friends from college. He’d always been one of the nicest people I’d known. And as much as I’d like to say I was attracted to him because of his kindness, his height and cute smile are what got me.

But after our first date, he left for a six-week work trip to India. I wouldn’t fault you for assuming that our connection fizzled out, that we texted every now and then, or when he got “signal.” Or that work consumed his life, and he was just too “busy” for a relationship.

But you’d be wrong.

Instead, we texted each other every day. We didn’t miss a single one. We got to know one another, from our biggest dreams in life to our favorite foods to that time when I accidentally became friends with a gangster in China (long story).

Our connection stayed strong, even with 8,711 miles between us.

That was two years ago, and since then, he became my boyfriend. We celebrated our two-year anniversary recently. We moved in together. And, most importantly, we’re really freakin’ happy.

I had my reservations, though. He was your typical “nice guy.” I’d heard every cliché about…

--

--

Kirstie Taylor
Ascent Publication

Want to feel confident and secure when dating? Grab my 30-day dating guide, "From Anxious to Secure." kirstietaylor.com/guide // IG: @kirstietaylorr //