3 free hacks to start treating yourself like an athlete and achieve more

Ryan Trumble
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readMar 27, 2018

“Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live” — Jim Rohn

We should all take our health seriously.

While researching about high performing athletes, I figured out one of the reasons they can perform at the highest levels is because they treat their body and minds like tools that must be taken care off. Sounds obvious right ?

So, I’ve decided to start treating myself like an athlete.

Here are the 3 simplest hacks I’ve found to get you on the path to greatness :

Sleep

“Sleep is the best form of meditation” — Dalai Lama

This is this best hack I’ve found so far.

Simply, start by fixing your bedtime and your waking time. If you’re like me, there wasn’t any regularity in the time you went to bed.

I could binge watch series on Netflix all night or I could go to bed early, exhausted from my day.

I would either not have enough sleep and that would impact my day. Or I would have too much sleep, and feel kind of groggy for about an hour after I woke up.

Needless to say that is unhealthy behaviour. But thankfully I found the light.

I set my bedtime to 11pm and my alarm to 7am and no matter what I have to stick to it. That gives me a full 8 hours of sleep which recharges my batteries and I get to enjoy the benefits of the small act of self-discipline.

Pro tip :

Research shows that the blue light emitted from our screens actually makes us stay awake longer.

I recommend you to use a filter app like “f.lux” to block those lights on your computer and set a rule to not use any electronic device 1 hour before going to bed.

Exercise daily

“No man has the right to be an amateur in the matter of physical training. It is a shame for a man to grow old without seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable.” — Socrates

You don’t have to be running an Iron Man everyday. A simple 15–20 min full body workout routine or a 30 min run around the block 3–4 times a week is all I’m talking about.

Sure you could go to the gym.

If you have time, a gym nearby. Go for it.

Lifting weights can only do you good.

But if you think you’re too busy to commit to the gym, just workout from home.

A short workout, is better than no-workout.

Get your blood flowing and fill your lungs up with fresh air.

Plus, exercise is a great way to have a break from the whirlwind of your daily life and just take care of your body and mind. And it’s free, so just do it.

Meditate

I know what your thinking.

Meditation… again…

But hear me out.

Meditation brings a lot of benefits.

It reduces stress, it helps focus, it recharges your batteries.

Meditation is about appreciating life in the moment.

Too often we’re caught up in plans for the future or dwelling on past mistakes instead of just taking the time to live in the now.

Meditation is time you set aside to live in the moment. Let your thoughts and dreams and fears on the side just for a few minutes, breathe, and that’s it.

If you don’t know how to start, just use meditation apps. It’s a great tool to keep track of your progress and to help you build a habit. I personally use Headspace but there are plenty of options.

Last tip :

We live in the age of data, so why not use that data to live a better life ?

Use apps such as Apple’s Health to track your daily activities and analyse them so that you can constantly improve your routine.

Remember the goal is to build habits that improve your health (mind and body)to help you achieve what you want in life. If you want success, start by treating yourself like an athlete

Thank you for your attention.

Before you go :

Thank you for reading this, your awesome !

I publish something on Medium once a week about new technology, marketing, sales and personal development.

If you are interested in these fields and liked what you have read, I invite you to subscribe to my page. It means a lot, thank you.

--

--