3 Lessons I Learned from Being Obese

It wasn’t healthy, but it taught me a lot.

Shruti G
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

At my heaviest, I was obese. There’s no skirting around the subject or pretending I wasn’t, because I could see it in pictures and feel it in my core. I was ashamed and shy in front of cameras, wished I was invisible in social situations, and hated wearing jeans.

I still struggle with my weight, but my life has changed since those bolded words on my papers from my annual physical. I didn’t just lose weight. I lost my old life. Over time, I learned to love and care for my body while completely overhauling how I lived and how I ate and how I breathed. I wanted to be happy. I wanted to be healthy. I now know that they’re one and the same. It took me years to be able to understand that and act on those ideas, and ultimately, my wish to become happier and healthier was my biggest motivation.

This is what I learned along the journey.

There are too many conflicting opinions about losing weight.

If you search “how to lose weight,” you’re told to drink more water, drink more tea, eat less sugar, eat less fats, eat out less, eat when hungry, cut out fruit or alcohol, sleep more, and so much more. If you ask friends or family, they’re going to tell you to drink apple cider vinegar…

--

--