3 Rules of an Unbreakable You

A Pro Athlete’s 3 Ideas and Self-Awareness Tools to Change Your Life in 2019

Trevor Huffman
Ascent Publication
Published in
7 min readJan 15, 2019

--

“Yoooo, maaaa, what’s good?”

My teammate Lauren used to say that to me in Aalst, Belgium. He was all bones and tendons, a skinny black guy from the Bronx. He’d grin wide and send his fist out for some dap without looking at me.

“What’s good Lo?” I’d ask back, sauntering into the locker room.

“Life is good Huff — I’m alive, livin’ the dream.”

The dream.

I loved living my dream. Playing pro hoops was the best time of my life. Yeah, it wasn’t always easy, but the truth was, I got paid to put a ball in a metal hoop in front of thousands of people almost every day.

It seems odd to even say “pro hoops was my career” since I’ve been removed from it for almost four years now. The experience of my transition when I stopped doing what I knew changed me.

It haunted me, actually.

Every time I thought about the direction of my life, I’d lose control of my emotions and feelings and my brain (or physiology) would crap on me whenever it wanted too, like pods of dark pigeon clouds following me like Charlie Brown.

“Yoooo-maaaaa, what’s good?”

--

--

Trevor Huffman
Ascent Publication

Hi. I'm Trevor. I write about egoless living relative to sports, business, leadership, and fitness. Subscribe today.