3 Ways to Reclaim Your Creative Motivation When You’ve Lost It

When you’re in the creative doldrums, the way out may be a craft you never considered.

Ryan Porter
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

Nobody has ever said that my work sucks. At least they haven’t told me to my face. I wish they did because now it’s my job to judge myself.

A high school English teacher once regarded one of my assignments as “absolute waffle.” Yes, she said that. I remember that day like it was yesterday.

As Michael Jordan once said, “…it became personal with me.”

I begrudgingly landed an A in the class the next semester, and I haven’t looked back since. I wrote all the way through college, and then picked it back up into my post-grad life.

For me, creativity has always been a prominent personality trait. My colleagues know me as the guy who takes photos of my wild adventures. I camped on a cow farm in the middle of a heavy rainstorm for crying out loud.

Who does that?

Occasionally sharing these moments through photography, or through writing, has a special place in my life. It’s a fulfilling activity that gives me a sense of purpose. It helps me feel like I belong.

March 2020

--

--

Ryan Porter
Ascent Publication

I manage an $8-figure media team across 3 brands — I’ll help you make videos so you can grow yours. Join 500+ creators https://wordstovideos.carrd.co/