30 Books in 20 Weeks? Why Reading Challenges Are Great

Piotr Gaczkowski
Ascent Publication
Published in
8 min readJul 2, 2019

--

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

This year started for me with an idea to read much more than in the last year. I’ve already signed up for The Startup Book Club so I knew I’ll be reading at least one book every two weeks. A year has 52 weeks and besides the books from the club it would be good to throw in a little bit extra, don’t you think?

That’s how I came up with figure 30. Reading a book every two weeks seemed like a challenge, albeit a manageable one. On the first meeting of our local book club, a friend of mine mentioned he planned to read fifty books this year.

Fifty books!

Wow, that seemed like an ambitious goal. Considering I hit eighteen positions the last year, I thought my sudden jump to almost twice that much would be a struggle.

But I was determined to try and read ferociously! And that’s exactly what I did. Fast forward to May I have already finished my challenge, having hit the thirty books mark after merely twenty weeks. How did I do that? I hope this article will show some of the tools that helped me.

Routines

To read books you need to establish some good routines. It was no coincidence that the first book in The Startup Book Club was “Atomic Habits” by James Clear.

--

--

Piotr Gaczkowski
Ascent Publication

Creator. Efficiency Hacker. Human Jukebox. Loves convenient tools and sharing knowledge. Resides at https://doomhammer.info/