30 of the Most Powerful Lessons I Learned From My Mom

She taught me financial responsibility as I grew into adulthood.

Anne Hartt
Ascent Publication

--

My mother never hid in motherhood, claimed to be perfect, nor tried to be. She knew to hide real life from her kids; she’d unknowingly create this unrealistic idea of what life should look and feel like — almost setting us up for failure because the real world ain’t for the faint of heart.

Mom intuitively got that, and she made sure I was prepared for the real deal by showing it to me.

To teach me how to live my best life, she knew she had to live hers. To ensure I grew up to be an independent, empowered, and emotionally strong woman, I watched her become one. To give me the best chance at living a passion-filled life full of healthy, loving relationships, she made sure she lived one.

She taught me with her words and, most importantly, with her actions. She understood her job wasn’t to protect and shelter me from all the bad things in the world. It was to embody, showcase, and model everything she wanted for me…in herself.

Growing up, I didn’t understand or agree with her lessons, but I can see clearly now the critical role each played in shaping me into the woman I am today.

--

--

Anne Hartt
Ascent Publication

Unapologetically real, potty-mouthed straight-shooter writing about self, sex, life and love. There’s nothing politically correct about me. anne@annehartt.com