33 Life Lessons That Brought Me Growth In 33 Years

Birthday reflections on love and life to share with the world

Sarah Seweryniak
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Sergei Solo on Unsplash

When I was 17-years-old my brother committed suicide.

At 29 I had a tumor that needed to be surgically removed. I was also pregnant at the time.

As I take the time to reflect on my birthday, there has been a lot of living and lessons learned in 33 years. And still, so much more to do…

1. For every bad thing that happens to us, good will come too.

Think about the worst event that has ever happened to you. Now imagine if that never occurred. There are many paths our life can take. How different does your life look if your worst moment never happened?

My brother committed suicide in February 2005. Before his passing, I had planned to go away to college. While I stood at a crossroad contemplating my future and going away for school, I couldn’t help but think about my parents. How empty the house would be for them. Watching their only surviving child leave for school in six months did not sit well in my heart or soul. I could not leave them. I chose to stay…

--

--

Sarah Seweryniak
Ascent Publication

I write about Marketing, Self-Improvement & Parenting | Increase your article read time and grow your Medium following: https://bit.ly/3sRopdn