4 Tips I Discovered to Deal With My Impostor Syndrome

Phil Araujo - The Product Hero
Bootcamp
Published in
10 min readDec 21, 2020

--

Photo by Randy Jacob on Unsplash

Last week, I recorded with my co-host Mathieu, the 8th episode of the Naked Podcast, and the topic we initially chose was impostor syndrome. I have a personal connection with this syndrome because after reading about it, I noticed that I relate to it. I want to share my experience and the tools that I have developed that have enabled me to mitigate it.

70% of the population experience impostor syndrome.

Throughout my career, whether I changed jobs, companies, projects or teams, I truly believed that I only won these new positions on the basis of exceptional circumstances or luck, not on merit. I thought that what I had done was not good enough to deserve what I had accomplished. I didn’t believe in any of my achievements or doubting my skills. Therefore, I felt like a fraud.

I was afraid people around me would find out. At night, I had thoughts like “Why am I in these meetings?” “Why are they entrusting me with this project?” “Why are they putting me in charge of this team?” or “I cannot make this presentation in front of all the management of the company, I do not know enough about the subject!”. Like on the Suits TV show, when Mike knows that Jessica has learned the truth and walks into the office feeling everyone’s gaze on him.

--

--

Phil Araujo - The Product Hero
Bootcamp

10+ yrs of expertise into lifestyle wins to empower people from Zero to Hero | 600+ taught successful products philosophy| Real, no fluff! social.philaraujo.com