5 Easy Ways to Start a Productive Day

Get out of the procrastination zone.

Mag Itsara
Ascent Publication
4 min readNov 17, 2019

--

Photo by Pedro da Silva on Unsplash

1. Start working during the AM

I experienced this myself on one weekend. With the plan to be productive in my head, on Saturday, I woke up and started off by YouTubing and gaming… just because it’s Saturday! tons of distractions with the undone tasks prickling at the back of my mind, yet I couldn’t bring myself to stop procrastinating. Ended up that I started working at 4PM that day. While on Sunday, the following day, I had to run an errand early morning and this was necessary. I no way could put it off. After I was done with it, I had lunch and started off working on my planned tasks right away. It was twice as productive as Saturday. That is when I recognized the power of setting yourself on the track as early as possible, but at your convenience too. (This is probably subjective, because some people are morning people but some are night owls.)

Photo by Warren Wong on Unsplash

2. The location might be the case

My best comfort zone for day offs is undoubtedly my home. Because at home, you can eat whenever you’re hungry, you can go to pee whenever you need to. Freely. It’s so comfortable to the extent that you might underestimate the time your tasks would take, and then it leads you to unconsciously procrastinate, resulting in being unable to finish your goal in the end. How about trying working in a place that is not your comfort zone? ie. the place that makes you comfortable enough but not too comfortable. More importantly, the place that enables you to concentrate. I am not personally a fan of sitting and working at a cafe. I am the type of introverts that need privacy and silence to concentrate. Lately I, however, tried working at Starbucks, the branch that put on no music and there was no loud chatting. Surprisingly, I got a lot of work done. I am not sure if it was also the effect of caffeine’s magical scent.

Photo by Geeky Shots on Unsplash

3. Split the tasks as if they’re levels in a game.

This may specifically resonate with gamers. Or anyone who has a competitive soul. I know that splitting a task into small ones is basically mentioned in every article talking about productivity and procrastination. This way, it will make the split task less burdensome and seemingly become a little easier to get done, but what I’m trying to point out here is that try looking at a small task like a level of a game that you want to pass, ie. I am gamifying the tasks here. It does not matter how small you will split, do it as you wish. Certainly, in a game there are easy level and super boss level, you will need to get pass every level to accomplish the final goal anyway.

Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

4. Set a reward for yourself

This can be combined with splitting task. After you get a small task done, reward yourself with something that helps you relax. I usually play a level or two on a mobile game, or dive into social media app. But don’t get too carried away, always set a time for the break and then go back to work. Sometimes you may have other plans like going out or shopping, make it as a reward for your accomplishment of the day. This will make your day super productive and not too dull. Try to plan these things out early or better, before you start a day. You will look forward to being productive.

Photo by Kevin Ku on Unsplash

5. Deadline is the classic motivation

Look at it in a positive way, deadline is not to put stress on you. It helps you with prioritizing. When you have no actual deadline, make it up yourself. By the way, researchers suggested that self-imposed deadline might not stop procrastination, you better find something enjoyable in your task. Or for me, after finishing the task! I usually make a plan (as a reward) after I complete the whole goal of a certain period. For instance, on weekend, I estimate that if I am productive all day, I can get all tasks done in one day and I will have another day free for myself. This intuitively becomes an enjoyable deadline for me.

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started. The secret of getting started is breaking your complex and overwhelming tasks into small manageable tasks, and then starting on the first one.” — Mark Twain

--

--