5 Lessons I Learned After Struggling for 5 Years in a Military Boarding School

My teenage years were hell but my adulthood is grateful.

Niharikaa Kaur Sodhi
Ascent Publication

--

I was 13 when my parents put me in a boarding school located in the foothills of the Himalayas. Set across two hill-tops with almost two-centuries-old architecture, there were a lot of history, culture, traditions and ghost stories to this place.

This particular institution was made for the Britishers’ children during the British Raj.

I will skip the boring bit of the history and let you know that the old name for this school was Royal Military College.

Now, the name has changed but the traditions? I wish they did, at least when I was there.

I cried every day begging my parents to take me home. How is a city girl supposed to live in a place where being late by 30 seconds could result in a week of punishment?

Today, I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to get educated here. While any school can make you literate, not all can educate you.

Let me take you through some of the darkest childhood experiences I went through and how they have made my adulthood prosper. And you can too, with the adulthood hacks mentioned.

1. Have Uncompromising…

--

--