5 Life Lessons on Happiness I Learned From My 6-Year-Old Patient

Words of wisdom from a tiny person

Carly
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

I’m a physical therapist and Gabby is my patient. She’s 6 years old, walks with her toes in, and sometimes trips over her feet when she plays. We’re working on stretching, strengthening, and balance exercises so she can move straighter and safer. I’m helping her improve her physical health.

But what Gabby does for me is bigger. She is helping me way more than I’m helping her. I never ask for advice, but her words are somehow exactly what I need each time I see her. Sometimes I feel like she’s my happiness life coach.

This little ray of sunshine is completely herself. Her words of encouragement, conversations, and views on this world are beautiful. She is happy with her life, even more than other 6-year-olds I know, and makes everyone around her feel comfortable. I’ve learned a lot from this little girl — some life lessons I was familiar with but never embraced. Others I never thought of. Now I apply these things to my daily life, and I am so much happier.

Hold yourself accountable, but don’t take yourself too seriously.

Stick to your goals and have fun reaching them. Persevere through hardships, but also give yourself some slack…

--

--

Carly
Ascent Publication

Vestibular Physical Therapist | Here to share knowledge, experience, and tips to help you understand dizziness and get your life back