5 Life Lessons Learned From 5 Years as a Starbucks Barista

Apart from how to make a cappuccino or brew a french press

Esmeralda Eve
Ascent Publication

--

Barista steaming a milk pitcher at a coffee shop.
Photo by Ketut Subiyanto from Pexels

Most mornings used to begin with the smell of fresh coffee grounds and warmed sugary pastries. After making my cold brew and finishing my toasted sprouted grain bagel, I put on my apron ready to, excuse the pun, grind.

Throughout college and a few months after, I worked at Starbucks as a barista. At the time, I thought the main benefit was free caffeine for finals, but now almost two years later, I realize it was much more. After all, hindsight is often 20/20.

If you’re looking for a “tips and tricks from a Starbucks Barista” or a “former barista confessions” article, I’m sorry this one isn’t for you.

Instead, below are the life lessons my time with the company taught me, all of which I still employ today. If you’re interested in self-improvement and professional development, then keep reading.

1. Importance of Recognition

There is a synergy between baristas and customers; we are a part of each other’s daily routine. The customer may not always remember your name, but they will remember how you made them feel.

When you repetitively take the same person’s order every day, inevitably, you memorize the order and often the name. As regulars reached the register, I typically greeted them with a “Good morning [INSERT CUSTOMER’S NAME], getting the usual today?” then instinctively wrote it on the cup.

“A person’s name is to him or her the sweetest and most important sound in any language.” — Dale Carnegie

More often than not, they smiled and commented on how it made their morning. The daily occurrence taught me how much people appreciate being recognized and heard.

According to Jodi Shulz, an educator at Michigan State University Extension, using a person’s name in a conversation creates a culture of respect, consideration, and acknowledgment. Think about how you feel when it is done to you.

The practice applies to many aspects of your life. I implement this when talking with friends, coworkers, and now as a customer, baristas at the Starbucks near me. In addition to names, don’t understatement the power of a thank you. It truly helps further the sense of recognition.

2.Find Your Rhythm

At Starbucks, most positions are stationary. If you are on register you stay at the register; the same rule goes for the beverage bar. The “customer support” role is the opposite as you are responsible for switching between restocking the condiment bar, brewing coffee, etc. Most new baristas get overwhelmed and struggle to follow a cadence.

You must learn how to observe patterns and find your rhythm to succeed in the position. After years of implementing these tactics, it has become second nature in all settings.

The skills acquired from customer support I transferred into my new job in a new form called a flow state. For those who are new to the term, the state is when you are so deeply involved in an activity, your mental state follows, focusing all of its attention on the task at hand. Researchers have found entering flow carries many advantages, including performance and skill development. My ability to quickly enter flow I attribute to my time as a barista.

3. Power of a Clean Workspace

Although I considered myself a planner before working, I wasn’t the most organized when it came to my workspace. I “knew” where everything was, but there was no sense of structure.

A clean and sanitary workplace is a must working at a food/beverage establishment. Skilled baristas take it a step further by keeping their bar station clutter-free. Every syrup bottle, milk pitcher, etc. has a designated accessible place and needs to be maintained.

No matter how many Starbucks drinks were in the queue, as long as the area was in order, my performance stayed up to par. Now working in an office job, I continue the habit at my desk by ensuring it remains neat and tidy.

Our workspace setup has more of an impact than we realize. A study conducted by the Princenton Neuroscience Institue found that the more stimuli we have in our view, the more likely our brains will be distracted.

If you find yourself struggling with productivity, try working “like a barista” and reorganize your work station.

4. Keep Calm and Think Fast

When I was promoted to a shift supervisor, 4 hours before closing, our entire block experienced a sudden power outage. With customers and baristas looking to me for guidance, it was crucial to keep calm and think fast.

After taking a moment to react and then strategize, I effectively executed my plan. By utilizing each of my partners’ strengthens, we were able to tend to the customers, complete operations, and leave a good close for the opening crew.

“Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.” — Edward Murphy

Although stressful at the time, I’m thankful for this experience because it taught me how to expect the unexpected. No matter how much you prepare, the universe often throws a curveball your way. You can let it hinder your goals or recognize it as growth and embrace it.

5. Make it Worth it

In a fast-paced environment, every second counts. Customers are typically in a rush, especially in the morning, making your goal to be as timely as possible without sacrificing quality or customer satisfaction. You quickly learn how to make the most of your time. If I went to the backroom to restock cups, I also grabbed lids to save time and so forth.

In other words, make it worth it. Aside from time management, I continue this mindset in my everyday life. When I spend time with friends, I make it worth it by being present in the moment. When I’m applying for jobs, I make it worth it by submitting applications to those I feel underqualified for.

Tomorrow isn’t guaranteed, make it worth it.

Apart from how to make a cappuccino or brew a french press, my time at Starbucks helped me develop transferable skills I now apply in my professional and personal life.

It also gave me the perspective of the hard work that goes into making a pitcher of cold brew, latte, etc. If you take anything from this, remember to thank your barista, it goes along way.

--

--

Esmeralda Eve
Ascent Publication

8–5 by day, content creation freelancer by night. Interested in productivity, lifestyle, self-improvement, health, digital marketing, and everything in between.