6 Life-Changing Lessons That My Spiritual Master Left Me

They can help to transform any seeker on the path to spiritual growth.

Sabah Ismail✨
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Colton Duke on Unsplash

What does it mean to have a Spiritual Master? What does it mean to be a humble disciple? These are two questions that had never even crossed my mind until I met my husband, the man that was the means for me to meet the one man that would absolutely transform my life: Sheikh Aly N’Daw.

Sheikh Aly N’Daw, my Spiritual Master, was the fourth leader of the International Sufi School: a school, or community, that was founded by Senegalese Sufi Saint, Sheikh Ahmadou Bamba, in 1883 as a means of service to humankind.

Founded on the principles of peace, love, service and non-violence, Sheikh Aly N’Daw was the embodiment of these principles and completely dedicated his life selflessly to the service of humanity. He transitioned quite suddenly from this human life on to the next stage of his journey on 17th February 2021, leaving many of us with what he would call an ‘awakening shock’, the ripples of which I’m still feeling today.

Before finally meeting Sheikh Aly at the age of 24, I’d never really known much about the Sufi path. Growing up in a family and community where religion was taught in a very one-dimensional, black-and-white, right-and-wrong way, I’d always…

--

--

Sabah Ismail✨
Ascent Publication

A human being fascinated by the human experience. Also a writer, artist & transpersonal healing coach writing on spiritual growth, healing & consciousness.