6 Powerful Realizations From Living Out of 2 Backpacks For Years

You can carry your life on your back.

Jack Krier
Ascent Publication

--

Not so long ago, I was living in a comfy apartment, driving my car to work every day, and ordering sneakers online.

I had an average corporate lifestyle with a handsome salary, lots of networking events, and stability.

It was easy, secure, and convenient. And that was the problem.

Deep down, the adventurer inside me wanted more risk, less materialism, and a more unconventional outlook on life.

That’s when I made a cut.

After years of working long hours in the finance sector, chasing corporate status, and playing by everyone else’s rules, I re-orientated my professional life. I got rid of 70% of my possessions, invested in a few startups, started various online business ventures, bought two 45L backpacks, and set off to travel the world.

A few years and a lot of trial and error later, I succeeded in building my full-time travel lifestyle.

Living out of two 45L backpacks became the norm — and I’ve been roaming the planet for over two years now, including a short 2-month Pandemic-induced break.

In his masterpiece On the Road, Jack Kerouac argued that “the road is life.” And…

--

--

Jack Krier
Ascent Publication

Writer. Photographer. Nomad. I write about entrepreneurship, remote work, and personal growth | All of my links: https://linktr.ee/jackroaming