7 Things Beginning Writers Wish They Knew

Unpopular opinions about writing that will kickstart your writing career.

Aigner Loren Wilson
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

I started writing when I was young, like many writers. Words and stories flew from me quicker than I could pen them down. So, I decided young that I would take the steps toward being a career writer.

20 years later, I was still writing but no close to being an actual writer. By “actual writer” I mean someone who is paid and sought out for their writing. So while yes, I did write and technically was a writer. I was really just a hobbyist.

Someone who wrote for fun.

If you’re familiar with my writing, then you know that I left that stage of the wanna-be writer and entered the stratosphere of being a paid professional writer. I’ve written for places like Better Humans, Tor.com, Rue Morgue, and more. For the past two years, I’ve been working solely as a writer and editor to pay my bills and feed my cats.

I’m tired of hearing the same old same advice and information from the pearly halls of academia to the murky message boards. So, I take all the common advice given to first-time writers and throw it under the bus. This list is for the writer who was like me, sick of banging their head against the screen and getting nowhere.

--

--

Aigner Loren Wilson
Ascent Publication

Helping writers tell better stories and sell their work. Work in Better Humans| The Writer| The Writing Cooperative. Follow to level up your writing.