A Degree Doesn’t Guarantee a Job, But It Can Do These Things

Noah Rue
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readApr 16, 2019
Image courtesy: Unsplash

I wasn’t sure what to do with my life after high school. Back then, my parents and friends had very different ideas about how the trajectory of my life should look. My parents, completely sold on the importance of a college degree, stopped short of kicking me out of the house unless I enrolled. My peers, on the other hand, just didn’t think it would be worth it.

However, it turns out my parents had more leverage on me. Fast-forward four years, and I was reaching for my diploma. Was it worth the debt? To be honest, I still ask myself this on some days. Many of my friends who opted to skip college live fruitful lives to this day, earning more than I do.

So what was the point?

It seems there are plenty of people these days talking about why getting a college education isn’t necessary and might not even be worth it. The Class of 2019 collectively owes $1.5 trillion in student loans in the U.S., and they will walk across the graduation stage with an average debt of nearly $30,000 — and my current loan balance is higher than I’d like to admit.

This might have you thinking twice about completing your college application. But, what if I told you that getting a degree is about more than getting a job or even incurring debt? I treasure the experiences I had during those four years, and it has opened many doors in my career that would otherwise be closed. College is a rite of passage into a lifelong career and can teach you some skills that you’ll miss out on if you opt not to enroll.

It’s important to point out that higher education isn’t a one-size-fits-all adventure. With many options to choose from, you might realize that going to school might be easier than you think. You can go to a traditional four-year university or choose a community college, technical school, or even just classes to get your feet wet. Here are a few of the college paths you can choose from and few of the benefits you’ll get along with a degree.

To Enroll or Not To Enroll

Making the decision to go to college can be challenging. You might worry — as I did in my freshman year — that you’re not cut out for four years of higher education. If that’s that case, you’ll be happy to know that a four-year college isn’t the only option. You can look into a vocational school, where you can learn the skills you need to land the job you want. A few programs you might find at a vocational school include nursing assistant, massage therapy, and medical coding.

If you decide to go the traditional college route, you’ll probably be in college for at least four years. While you’re there, you will complete academic course work for the program you choose and then graduate with a bachelor’s degree. Many students continue their schooling to obtain a higher degree.

Don’t go in blind, if you can help it. I only declared my major in my second year, which made getting all the required courses in four years a bit challenging. You might want to get a Master’s in Business Analytics or a Ph.D. in Psychology to be on the cutting edge of technology and advancements in your field. Colleges have become more flexible and even allow you to choose courses and certificates that make you more appealing to future employers. So, even if you end up with a bit of tuition debt, going to college might still be the best option for your future.

Getting More Than a Degree

No matter what degree you decide to get, you’ll walk away from your college education with more than just a few fancy letters after your name. College is a stepping stone to a career and a passion for lifelong learning. Here are three things you’ll get from obtaining your college education:

1. A Well-Developed Network

To this day, I keep in touch with friends (and a couple professors) from my university years. Many people leave college with lifelong friendships or even a spouse. While both of these are excellent bonuses to getting an education, finding a network of other professionals in your niche is priceless. Your college might require that you complete an internship or preceptor program. These are great ways to learn more about the job and meet others who can help you find a position or even be a mentor as you get started.

Networking can help your career development for years to come. You might find that taking continued classes for career development and certificates is an excellent way to keep growing your network. For creatives, learning a new skill such as photoshop classes might be the best way to meet others who are excelling in this industry to learn new ways to shine. You can never have too many connections within your specialty.

2. Higher Earning Potential

Did you know that college grads make more money over time? Some studies even estimate that college graduates earn $1 million more throughout their lifetime compared to those with only a high school diploma. Not only can you make more, but you’re at a lowered risk of unemployment as well.

3. Brighter Career Outlook

According to an article in The Detroit News, today’s college graduates have one of the best career outlooks since the 1990s. A college education often equates to higher levels of job satisfaction and security. It’s not always what you studied that’s the most important part of college, but rather just that you went and studied something at all. Just having a degree might be what gets your foot in the door with many companies.

In my case, my degree didn’t result in higher pay right out the door, but it did open up opportunities for promotions down the line. Your degree is an asset that will continue to benefit you throughout your professional life.

College provides an extensive range of skills that you can use in just about any field. It can open up unexpected opportunities and career pathways that you never even considered. For many people, college is the only thing that keeps them out of service industry jobs that don’t offer much room for advancement.

Deciding Your Next Step

If you don’t want to spend the next 10 or 15 years wondering what might happen if you went back to school instead of back to work, you need to start doing your homework now. Jot down five careers that interest you and find out what degree you need to break into the field. Look for programs, loans, and tips on how to be successful in college.

Ultimately, I’m happy that I graduated college. Yes, I have some student loan debt. And sure, I may have not selected the highest-earning degree. But the personal growth and professional opportunities it opened in my life are invaluable. The prospect of higher education is only scary until you truly make the decision — then, the rush of what the future holds will keep you moving towards your dreams.

--

--