A Programmer Explained to Me Why I’m an Idiot and a Moron in the Same Sentence

Tests rule out the people who think outside the box.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readSep 5, 2020

--

Photo by Obie Fernandez on Unsplash

I was an idiot and a moron. A self-help junkie like me should have known better.

We met for the first time. He works client-side looking after teams of engineers. I work with clients like him to help them build engineering teams at scale and expand through mitosis (members of a successful engineering team branch off and create new teams).

I explained to him how his employer wanted me to code test any new engineers with HackerRank and I agreed with their decision. (This was ironic because I’m not a coder and can’t read code.) It was at this point where he got fired up. His face turned a little red.

“You are an idiot and a moron if you think you can code test engineers to try and find good ones.”

I was a little taken back. We weren’t even friends yet. Should I be offended? He continued:

“Code tests rule out the people who think outside the box.”

He started rattling off example after example of gun engineers who performed poorly on a HackerRank test. He showed me the work these engineers produced and then their poor HackerRank results. This next line got me:

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb