A Walk Across Japan Can Change Your Life in Unexplainable Ways

Craig Mod started the trend after being exhausted by technology.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
7 min readNov 26, 2020

--

Photo by Walter Mario Stein on Unsplash

I asked her to be my girlfriend before I left for Japan to be robbed and die.

Every time I go overseas I imagine something bad will happen. It makes me do wild things. In 2017 I was getting over a bad breakup. A trip to Japan was supposed to take my mind off things. In the middle of a rose garden I asked a woman I’d been dating to be my replacement girlfriend. The next part is a little weird.

I then had my ex-girlfriend agree to guide me on a walk across Japan. It was a deeply selfish move in hindsight. She wrote me a travel guide and was on call via mobile phone in case I got lost in Japan.

The birthplace of the Sony Walkman I’d worshipped as a kid was to be my home for a few weeks. Japan is an unsuspecting country. You arrive and think there isn’t much to do. As you spend more time in Japan you realize it’s the simplicity and tranquility of each city that is its secret.

Japan looks like boredom at first. That’s your drunk, dopamine-addicted mind talking.

As you wander through the clean streets you see your life in a different way. Japan is the perfect cocktail experience to sip on after your romantic life…

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb