Overcome Your Obstacles With These Three Practices

Abayomi Omoogun
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readMar 30, 2019

“One can choose to go back toward safety or forward toward growth. Growth must be chosen again and again; fear must be overcome again and again.” — Abraham Maslow

Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

When I a little kid, Everything always looks big in my face and this went on with me till I became an adult.

I remember how I find reading books, writing and running a business very difficult. Now I can’t even go on a whole day without reading the same too with writing.

We all have the power to do whatever we want only if we can harness the opportunities around us.

So what changed? These three practices helped changed that

Perspective

The only thing you sometimes have control over is perspective. You don’t have control over your situation. But you have a choice about how you view it. Chris Pine

Photo by Anika Huizinga on Unsplash

You know the saying when you look at work or a task difficult, It will be difficult. same again when you look at a task simple it will be simple.

For you to change or overcome an obstacle you need to look at things from a different perspective.

The way we view things is the way we interpret it in our minds. If you look at writing as a difficult task, you will never write anything down. If you look at reading as a difficult task, you will never finish a single book. If you look at starting your business as a difficult task, believe me, you will never start any.

“It is a narrow mind which cannot look at a subject from various points of view.” ― George Eliot,

Once we can try to look at things from a different perspective can we be able to break things down and work from there? I want to write an article means I get to write something down every day be it a word, a line or a sentence. I want to read a 200-page book means I get too read 20 pages of the book in a day and in 10 days, am done. I want to start a business means I get to start on a small scale to cover a niche before going on a bigger scale.

Breaking things down and looking at it from a different perspective works only if you can apply it to your life.

Creating

“Write it. Shoot it. Publish it. Crochet it, Sauté it, whatever. MAKE.” ― Joss Whedon

Photo by Kevin Jarrett on Unsplash

I have always loved creating things, but have never for once in my life given it a try. The moment I started creating, things began to change for me. By first acquiring knowledge and then producing what I have learnt.

Through reading, I have been able to start writing on medium and also starting my own online business.

Creating and not consuming can help change and improve us. The Elon musk and the Bill Gates of this world are creators and not consumers.

They learn by acquiring knowledge on a particular field and went on to create things for the world at large.

So be eager to always be a creator and not a consumer.

True happiness comes from the joy of deeds well done, the zest of creating things new. Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Discipline

Photo by Thao Le Hoang on Unsplash

To achieve anything and everything you have to be disciplined. People want to achieve their goals without putting in the work. You can be fit if you don’t exercise. The discipline is the exercise you passed through. You want to write, You need to read a lot. The time created in reading is the discipline you put in.

Discipline is the bridge between goal and accomplishment.

Discipline is what keeps the energy flowing in you to get the work you want to be done.

When my friends ask me how can they start writing or publishing on medium. I tell them to write something down a day. As simple as it sounds to them, most can’t do it why? because they don’t have the discipline in them to keep doing it every day once they start. Discipline goes a long way in shaping how we do and go about to achieve what we want.

These three things are what I attribute my growth too. I had to first change my perspective and learn to create by disciplining myself.

--

--