After 6 months of selling books on Amazon, this is how much I made.

Brandon D. Wilson
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readJun 15, 2018

--

One day in November of 2017 I decided to reorganize my office. I discovered that I had way too many books for my available bookshelf space. I considered donating the books, but I decided to research selling books on Amazon based on a friend’s suggestion.

As a customer, I think Amazon is great. I am a card-carrying Prime member. I have the Amazon credit card, and I have been known to shop at Whole Foods. I was very curious to explore the perspective of an Amazon Seller.

From Amazon customer to Amazon seller

There are plenty of how-to videos and articles that guide you step-by-step through the process of selling on Amazon. Here is one I used. https://www.wikihow.com/Sell-Books-on-Amazon I will describe the process at a high level.

  • Open an Amazon Seller account. This process is straightforward especially if you already have a regular Amazon account. You may choose a Professional Seller Account, which costs $39.99 per month with no per-sale closing fee, or an Individual Seller Account, which has no monthly fee but charges $0.99/sale. Since I planned to start out small, I opened an Individual Seller Account.
  • Download the Amazon Seller app, which is separate from the regular Amazon app.

--

--