All The Things That Stop Me From Writing My Novel

And how I’m learning to combat them.

Maddie Rose
Ascent Publication
7 min readSep 24, 2019

--

Photo by Kat Stokes on Unsplash

I’ve been writing stories since I knew how to write. The storylines mainly involved orphans (I had an obsession with Annie and Lemony Snickett novels). I had a happy childhood so I’m still unsure where that obsession came from — sorry mum.

I’ve had hundreds of ideas for novels (who hasn’t?) and have tried my hand at producing several. But there’s always been one idea that’s stayed with me for years. One idea that has sunk its teeth into me and won’t let go.

It first came to me over a decade ago, and I’ve thought about it ever since. I constantly think of the story, the characters, the world in which it’s set. But I’ve never been able to write more than the outline and the first few chapters. I’ve written character profiles, I know how the story goes, the trials and tribulations most of the characters will face. I know the protagonist as though she were my best friend.

But I can never finish it, not even close. And there’s been hundreds of reasons for this. They all leave me paralysed.

Why is it that an idea I’m so clearly passionate about, something that’s stuck with me for years, is sitting dormant in my mind? What am I so scared of?

Photo by Art Lasovsky on Unsplash

1. It’s all be done before.

Counter argument:
It hasn’t.

If you’re a good writer with a good story, there should be nothing holding you back from creating and sharing your work. Sure, you could analyse your novel down to the bone and find many remnants of ideas from other stories, songs, poem, movies that have come before yours. But that’s what creation is all about. We are constantly being inspired by everything we see, hear, smell, taste and touch. We take all of this, and build new, wonderful things.

“Nothing is original. Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination. Devour old films, new films, music, books, paintings, photographs, poems, dreams, random conversations, architecture, bridges, street signs, trees, clouds, bodies of water, light and shadows. Select only things to steal from that speak directly to your soul. If you do this, your work (and theft) will be authentic. Authenticity is invaluable; originality is nonexistent.” — Jim Jarmusch

When we have an idea, we often assume (more due to low self esteem than actual reality) that the idea has either been done to death, or could be done better by someone else. But this is rarely the case. The reality is that if you were to leave this earth, your idea would probably leave with it.

Always remember that there’s enough success in the world for everyone. If you hone your talents and work hard, you can have a slice of the pie. Don’t let your ideas fade to dust.

Photo by Ed Robertson on Unsplash

2. What if it’s the wrong story to pursue?

Counter argument:
You’ll never know for sure, but pursuing is better than freezing.


If you’re like me, you have a notepad, app or head overflowing with story ideas. They come to you in the shower, on the train, in the middle of a meeting.

But with that extensive list of options to pursue, it can be overwhelming to choose which route to take. And when we are overwhelmed, we can freeze. Instead of taking the risk with one path, we stay where we are and refuse to budge.

But the fear of making a wrong choice shouldn’t make you not make a choice at all.

Almost everyone, writer or not, has a grand idea for a novel or film. If I could have a dollar for every time a friend of mine told me about said grand idea, asking me to write it for them, I’d be at least $10 richer.

Each time, I need to explain that this would be like humming a line of a tune and expecting someone else to compose the piece and write the lyrics. It would be like describing a dress idea and having someone design it, sew it, every bead and button. An idea is one thing, but the hard work and metaphorical blood, sweat and tears that come with actually bringing that idea to fruition is another.

The difference between you and them is that you’re a writer, damn it. You have the ability and discipline to take any of these ideas to the finish line. It’s unlikely that you’ll ever know if the idea you’ve chosen to pursue is the right one, but it’s better than not pursuing any idea at all.

Write your heart out. Give the idea everything you have. Flesh it out, milk it for all it’s worth. It could end up being a pile of trash, or it could be your masterpiece. You’ll never know if you don’t try it out. Don’t let your fear of indecision stop you from starting.

For me, I owe myself at least an attempt to pursue the one idea that has stuck with me for years and years. If I constantly find myself thinking about it, it must have legs.

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

3. What if nothing comes from it?

Counter argument:
What if it does?

Writing a novel is difficult as all hell. But completing the novel is just the beginning. For it to be published or for it to be successful is another challenge in itself. The fear of our hard work being all for nothing can be paralysing.

But here’s a tip. Go to your local bookshop or library. Look at the hundreds and hundreds of published works that pave the walls. That’s a lot of published, successful authors at your fingertips. Who’s to say you can’t be one of them?

And if nothing does eventuate from your work, you should be proud of the accomplishment of even completing a novel in the first place. Very few people in this world can say the same.

Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

4. The fear that I’m not that good.

Counter argument:
Try, and try again.

Some people are naturally gifted, and some are fuelled by determination alone. Both groups of people still have to put in the time and effort to hone their craft. No one will ever be a perfect writer, and at some point we have to be okay with our abilities.

If you love writing and have a book in your heart that you need to let loose, write now and edit later. Get it out of your system. Make grammatical errors, leave in the shitty dialogue. Keep your writer’s brain and editor’s brain seperate — those two aren’t the best of friends and tend to get in each others’ way.

The odds are you are better than you think. But you can continue to learn, read and write to ensure you’re giving yourself all the tools you need to be the best you can be.

I’ve read some horrific novels before — riddled with gaping plot holes, spelling mistakes and just terrible writing in general. If those can get published (and sometimes become incredibly successful), you should find comfort that the odds are probably in your favour.

Photo by Ben Thornton on Unsplash

5. My fear of plot holes.

Counter argument:
Plot holes occur. And still, no one dies.

I read one novel a week, sometimes two. Reading is my other love alongside writing. And what I’ve learn is that almost EVERY SINGLE book has a plot hole. Unless the book is set in an existing time and an existing place with characters based off real people, it’s difficult for a novel to get across the line without some questionable elements.

I’m a perfectionist, which can be a pretty damn exhausting trait when it comes to writing. Even the tiniest, niggling thought of, “Does this make sense? Would this really happen?” can make me throw my hands up in the air in defeat. My novel is ruined! I declare, my energy too deplete to back peddle. The work in progress goes back into its dungeon for several months before I’m willing enough to try again.

And for me, a person who loves to write thrillers and fantasies, who builds worlds that don’t yet exist, the holes in my stories can run rife. I’ll be plodding along, happy with my progress, and then boom. The dreaded plot hole rears it’s ugly head.

I have to remind myself that most plot holes are salvageable, and that it’s also okay for the audience to question the product of your imagination every now and then.

Photo by rosario nuñez on Unsplash

We could find a million and one reasons not to write. Our fears and anxiety can paralyse us. The magnitude of the project can confuse us as to where to even begin. But if you’ve got a novel in you, you owe it to yourself (and potentially everyone else) to get it out there. One word at a time.

--

--

Maddie Rose
Ascent Publication

Leaving parties early since 1991. Advertising suit by day.