Building Momentum For Yourself Is Not Overrated

It might be hard, but it’s entirely worth it in the end.

Danny Forest
Ascent Publication

--

Illustration licensed from VectorStock.com (adapted)

For the past three months, I’ve been in a slump. I have a hard time sticking to my good habits and I’ve been resorting to more and more bad habits. The thing is, I welcomed my son on June 5th of this year and never managed to get my groove back ever since.

There’s always a catalyst that changes your routine and breaks your flow. I remember dreading going on vacation for this exact same reason. I’d build great momentum for months in a row, and then by taking a week or two off, that was enough to kill all that flow.

I’d come back from vacation and be all over the place. My good habits were out the window and getting into flow was much harder. Worst, I’d lose all motivation for projects I was deeply passionate about.

Sounds familiar? You’re definitely not alone.

Your catalyst might be something else. Essentially, anything that derails your schedule for a few days will throw off your momentum. Then you’ll have to start all over again.

The whole cycle looks something like this:

--

--

Danny Forest
Ascent Publication

Polymath. Life Optimizer. Learner. Entrepreneur. Engineer. Writer.