Carve your own path

I used to mistakenly advise people to “Follow their own path”. Here’s why “Carve” is more appropriate 👏

Damien BRY
Ascent Publication
1 min readJun 11, 2018

--

Going at an alternative direction of the path your society recommends is not an easy move.

Everything will be against you 😳

Family.

Friends.

Coworkers.

Strangers.

Administration.

Movies.

News.

Social media.

Advertisement.

etc.

“Follow your own path” is therefore not a smart phrasing. It would mean the path is already drawn.

And it is not.

Carving is more appropriate.

You have to put energy and action if you want to make your life change.

You have to focus in one direction.

Don’t be afraid to be weird, that’s a good indicator of value 😉

This is why I changed my ending sentence by

Don’t follow me. Carve your own path.

And this is the only advice you’ll ever hear from me.

I don’t claim to know things better than you.

That’s probably the opposite.

I’m just documenting my life.

The evolution of my psychology.

My dreams.

My growth.

My mistakes.

I’m grateful to be able to share this with you.

And I would be delighted if it inspires some of you 🎉

Don’t follow me. Carve your own path.

--

--

Damien BRY
Ascent Publication

Carving my own path, through 7 daily activities to balance my life | damien-bry.com