Changing Your Focus Changes Everything

Attracting the life you want

L.A. Strucke
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Nghia Le on Unsplash

What do you think about all day?

I’ll tell you what I used to think about — everything that was going wrong in my life. I had a list a mile long of every awful thing that had ever happened to me. It started with the death of my father when I was a small child, and just piled up from there. Over the years, I just kept adding to this negative list. I spent much of my life feeling like a victim.

People are wired with an innate negativity bias, causing a tendency to focus on what’s wrong in their lives, instead of what is going right. Even if everything went perfect during the day, they will dwell on the one bad thing that happened. They’ll remember the rude driver who cut them off on the road, and not all the people that were kind to them during the day. It’s human nature to remember the bad things.

Unfortunately, when we are thinking and focusing about bad things all day, it’s going to affect everything we do. Once that huge snowball of negativity starts rolling down the hill, it is enough to ruin an entire day, and eventually an entire life.

The great news is we don’t have to give into the negativity.

--

--

L.A. Strucke
Ascent Publication

Top Writer, Songwriter. Published in Chicken Soup for the Soul, Highlights for Children and Guideposts. Editor of The Creative Project.