Connecting The Dots By Looking Backwards And Success Being The Best Revenge

Brandon Barnett
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readAug 26, 2016
Outside ASCAP Nashville Aug. 2011

Five years ago, I posted this photo from a previous meeting at ASCAP. This was because my then wife and I had another play-for-publisher meeting scheduled for Aug. 31, 2011.

This was one week after my birthday and I had scheduled my vacation then.

It was on the drive home from this meeting (somewhere around the Tennessee River bridge) that she informed me that she was leaving me. This was totally out of the blue. It made for an awkward drive home, to say the least.

It was that week that I put together a budget and a plan to leave my career to pursue music full-time.

This was the best thing that ever happened to me. I couldn’t stop her from leaving, but I definitely had a say in how I could react.

This little reminder from Facebook let me connect those dots this morning. I’m pretty sure that licensing deals and Left Of Nashville would’ve never happened if not for this day.

Oh yeah, one of the songs from that ASCAP meeting is one that I rewrote in an episode of Left Of Nashville. A couple of weeks ago, I signed my third sync deal with it.

Success is the best revenge.

Brandon Barnett is a singer-songwriter from Jackson, Tennessee. He is also the creator of Left Of Nashville, a documentary podcast highlighting the ups and downs in attempting to have a career in music. @leftofnashville on Twitter and Instagram.

--

--