Conversations With A Gaslighter

When love makes you question your reality

Michelle Jaqua
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Devin Avery on Unsplash

I’ve experienced gaslighting many times in my life. So much, unfortunately, that I can instantly recognize it and be immune to its repercussions. That was until I recently had a conversation with a person close to me who was trying to gaslight me.

Although I knew it was happening, and I even pointed it out, the conversation continued this way until it inevitably ended on a bad note.

That’s when I realized that even though I’m intimately familiar with gaslighting, it’s very difficult to combat against this form of manipulation when you’re in the middle of the conversation.

The tactics are so aggressive and perplexing, battling it is like swinging at a ghost. For me, the best way to fight it is to leave the conversation as quickly and with as little emotional damage as possible.

For others, however, turning around and walking away may not be so easy.

Gaslighting is a form of manipulation in order to gain power over another person. It is done purely as a way to have control over someone.

The person does this by getting you to question your own sanity. It’s a form of mental health abuse, and it’s used mostly by Narcissists and other types of abusers.

--

--

Michelle Jaqua
Ascent Publication

Advocate for Women / Owner of Lipedema and Me and The Virago