Create More Professional Freedom with 3 Simple Lifestyle Shifts

#2. Determine what spending actually feels right.

Alice Crady
Ascent Publication

--

Photo Credit: Unsplash, thoughtcatalogue

Laying on my bed on a Tuesday afternoon, my head felt dizzy. My boss wanted to promote me. I would gain more money, social status, impressive projects, and excellent benefits. An hour later, I sent in my resignation notice.

Despite having worked hard for that promotion, I knew what I really needed was a break. I had been burning out, and deep down, I knew I needed time to reflect, reconnect with myself, and do inner work.

Through a minimalist lifestyle and intentional finances, I had saved enough money to take at least eight months off.

One-by-one, I had that last conversation with different coworkers, and to my surprise, many of them seemed jealous: “Good for you! I wish I could do that.” “But you can…” I wanted to say.

Leading up to that choice, I have been pursuing simplicity for seven years, starting with clearing out my closet in college and reading minimalist blogs to exploring personal finance books. I wanted my life to feel more intuitive.

“Hard choices, easy life. Easy choices, hard life,” said Jerzy Gregorek. The decisions to let go or make counter-cultural choices are not easy. This journey has forced me to be honest…

--

--

Alice Crady
Ascent Publication

🦋 I uplift, inspire, and empower authentic human flourishing. I create transformative, hopeful, relatable content ❤️🕯 #Mental Health #Women #Relationships