Damaging Systems That Cage Birds of Art

Joshua Tobias Smith
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readMay 30, 2018

I am not interested in anything from entrepreneurship besides making it easier for creatives to do what they love.

If I had my own way, I’d probably be on a field in a van cooking beans, telling my future children not to wind the dog up and trying to learn a new chord progression on a guitar.

But that life is as good as illegal.

I wouldn’t even be interested in business & capitalism if it wasn’t for having been forced to accept it as a reality and meanwhile accept that my freedom must be bought.

I’ve a bee in my bonnet because all I really wanted was a simple life making music, but I’ve been shown I can’t do that without a job to support my livelihood.

It’s all just a big version of The Sims really. Not even from a higher being, from commerce and economy.

Even some of the most successful, supported and touring musicians I know have day jobs.

That realisation gave me a sense of purpose, I’ve got to try and damage this system that cages the birds of art.

Having to earn time to have time to do the things you love is such a backwards concept.

I’m a ‘working-class throwback’ with no inheritance to wait for or turn to. I’ve got to achieve by myself, with nothing but my Cinderella Man grit and passion.

In the context of history, that’s basically how humankind has been set out live from our creation.

We’re survivors.

And it’s useful to remember that there is nobody who is safe from some form of reminder that they’re only human. The breadline shows up in many different ways.

But we’ve forgotten all of that, because we let the systems we’ve put in place distract us and detach us from the reality that we’re all going to die one day.

The comfort of civilisation is the discomfort of our bodies and minds.

We’ve got to take ownership of our time. We’ve got to have the sense of passion for what we care about in life…

Otherwise we’re just living to die.

I would say “if that doesn’t matter to you, then fine”, but it’s not fine. If you don’t care about yourself then you’re part of the problem. You’re a mouth to feed in an age of overpopulation, a carbon footprint, a strain on healthcare and a reason why I can’t survive.

Disclaimer: I’m about helping people to find their passion, not genocide.

My parents are in their late fifties and still working their arses off with no immediate sense of being able to retire.

I’d like to break this rigged system keeping us in our place, and the only opportunity to do so legally is to have business success and some control over a market.

But if I get that success, I vow to keep a progressive mindset.

I started a music business because it’s my way of playing the game and still maintaining a degree of control.

So, I want us to represent being ethical, freeing from corporate restrictions and focused on art and culture. But I also want to do what it takes for us to be commercially successful, because that’s what it takes to give back to others in this broken world.

--

--