Dear Ex-Friend

An Open Letter To All The Friends I’ve Lost

Emma Bostian
Ascent Publication
2 min readSep 5, 2018

--

Dear Ex-Friend,

Hurt, betrayal, abandonment. These are the emotions I feel as I write this post.

When I let someone into my life, it’s because I find value in them as a person. I found value in you. You brought joy to my life and I will forever be grateful.

But then things changed.

Friendships are a two-way street; I felt as though I was traveling down a one-way dead-end lane. You became so absorbed in your own life that you forgot to appreciate the friendship I was so carefully cultivating.

I understand that each friendship is unique. Some friends are there to get you through a finite period of time. Some friendships last a lifetime.

When I moved to Germany, we made promises to stay in touch. At first this was easy. But over time, things changed. I slowly stopped hearing from you.

It truly does not require a lot of time or effort to maintain a friendship, and yet you let it die.

I am a damn good friend. I will be there in good times and bad. I always give more than I receive. I deserve someone who appreciates and respects me. Am I perfect? Absolutely not. But as with all relationships, friendships have highs and lows. You have to learn to stick it out when times get tough.

I could sit here and wonder whether it was my fault our friendship withered away, but I know it wasn’t. You did not make me a priority, and now we’re here.

I hope you find happiness in life. But I encourage you to take more time to appreciate the friendships you find value in. Because the moment you stop trying is the moment your relationships will suffer.

And one day, part of me hopes you regret the fact that you let our friendship die.

This letter isn’t to shame you for our past, but I hope it serves as a reminder to never take the people in your life for granted. Because one day they’ll realize they deserve more.

If you care about someone and value their friendship, tell them. Show them. They deserve to know.

Sincerely,

The amazing friend you let go

If you enjoyed this blog be sure to give it a few claps or follow me on Twitter, LinkedIn, or Instagram

--

--

Emma Bostian
Ascent Publication

Software Engineer @ LogMeIn by day, cat Mom by night. Also a full-time Bibliophile. I enjoy all things Front-end & Design