Decide Where You Want To Be In 10 Years And Get There In 6 Months

Vincent Carlos
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2020

--

Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

For the next 10 seconds, I want you to think about every big new idea that you’ve learned in just the last 5 years of your life.

Then I want you to ask yourself: “Did I really have to wait all that time to learn all of those insightful ideas and big breakthroughs?”

The answer is probably not.

This is something I think about all the time. I’ve constantly been introduced to new ideas that have significantly made my life better. And the only thing I can think about when this happens is, why did it take me so long to learn those ideas?

Whether it’s writing, business, or health, I could’ve easily started my journey 5 years earlier than I did and be a lot further ahead than I am now. But the problem was I didn’t know what I didn’t know.

Looking back, I realize that I was just too slow of a learner. I wasn’t curious enough.

Unfortunately, this is how most people are. Most people don’t try to actively seek out new ideas or new ways of doing things. Instead, most people just spend most of their time trying to figure things out on their own.

If, however, you want to be able to achieve in 6 months what takes most people 10 years to achieve, then you need to cut the learning curve. In order to…

--

--

Vincent Carlos
Ascent Publication

2x LinkedIn ‘Top Voice’ Writer | Avid Reader | Interested In Spreading Good Ideas | Join My Book Club @ vincentcarlos.substack.com