Diligence, Patience, and Consistency

Nancy Churchill
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2018

One of the most famous sayings in the Twelve Step Program is “Keep coming back, it works if you work it!” This is usually said at the close of each meeting. As a newcomer, it’s easy to understand the “Keep coming back” part.

“Of course they want new members to keep their little club going,” we think cynically. The “it works if you work it” idea often just elicits an eye-roll… “Yeah, right!” we may think.

The Fallen Tree by Nancy Churchill

But something keeps calling us back. The meetings are both emotional and up-lifting. People are sharing their problems, but they also share their victories. There’s more laughter than tears. We are not a glum lot.

However, the twelve step miracles doesn’t happen over night. Nobody can wave a magic wand and remove my shortcomings. Instead, I must become willing to take an inventory and sort out my good and bad patterns of thought, belief, and behavior.

For me, a complete inventory was too overwhelming. I started with the behavior pattern that was causing the most trouble in the moment. I think it was “minding my own business”. That was enough. Just one pattern, examined with diligence, patience, and consistency.

Today, I’m finally working a 4th step. I needed many years of study and listening for the healing found in the steps to work their magic on me. I’m lucky that I didn’t start my 4th step too soon. Diligence, patience, consistency and love have worked their magic at last.

Video Link

--

--

Nancy Churchill
Ascent Publication

Writer, CoDependent, and Fellow Traveler. Student of the Twelve Steps and the Law of Attraction. I’m on Instagram at “paradeofgood” and “nancydchurchill”.