Feeling Different? You Might Have Special Powers

Here’s why empaths and introverts should be honored as crucial to the survival of a free society.

Amanda Warton Jenkins
Ascent Publication
Published in
7 min readMar 21, 2020

--

Image courtesy Shutterstock.com

I personally have always been very proud of my high pain tolerance.

I have also suffered from cystic acne since I was in my teens.

If you’re an acne sufferer like me, these some of these painful treatments may sound familiar:

  • acid peels that leave skin super-sensitive to cold, wind, heat
  • harsh topical treatments like benzoyl peroxide, retinoids, dapzone, salicylic and/or azelaic acid which have the same effect
  • oral antibiotics that cause painful upset stomach and diarrhea (TMI?)
  • oral prescription medicines with birth defect warnings on the label
  • blood draws for routine cholesterol checks for above medicines
  • pregnancy tests, and
  • doctor-ordered birth control, even if you’re not sexually active.

I’ve also had doctors put their full weight on my face during painful “extraction” procedures, trying to get the infection out.

My entire gut biome and digestive tract was disrupted for years by prescription antibiotics.

--

--

Amanda Warton Jenkins
Ascent Publication

Yoga teacher, MPP UChicago "rewilding," living from the neck down, cultivating Albert Einstein's "sacred gift," intuition. My book: https://amzn.to/3mTwXlZ