Financial Freedom Is Not the Fairytale You Read About Online

But it can be life-changing if done the right way.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readSep 16, 2020

--

Photo by Evan Clark on Unsplash

Content that sells the fantasy of financial freedom makes me vomit.

It’s a lie.

The dream life of financial freedom portrayed online leaves out all the important parts. The benefit of financial freedom is you don’t have to work for money anymore so you can focus on work you love.

It’s a great feeling. But there’s a lot more to it. How do I know? I’ve done it.

I’ve made more than $300K as a writer and don’t have to work another day in my life if I choose.

Yet, despite the financial freedom fantasy, I am working harder than I have ever worked. Because financial freedom is a strange myth.

You Will Cry. A Lot.

You want financial freedom? Okay, well, here’s what the gurus don’t tell you: you will cry a lot. You will cry like a freaking baby.

I’ve copped lawsuits, had friends cheat on me, walked away from kind partners who loved me, battled mental illness, and had my ego thrown on the floor (twice) thanks to two social media bans.

If you want to be financially free then be prepared for the emotional rollercoaster. Anything…

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb