Finding Moments of Joy Every Day

Appreciate the little moments, and find balance by making time for them each day.

Vidhya Ravi
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

“It is not happiness that makes us grateful, but gratefulness that makes us happy.” ~ Brother David Steindl-Rast

When I was a little girl, so many things made me joyful:

  • My mom picking me up after school
  • My dad opening the front door to come home after work
  • My brother learning to crawl
  • The Disney theme music playing on a movie screen

That last one matters. I decided to become a marketer because of Disney. The uncontained sense of happiness and joy I felt, and still feel, every time I hear the Disney theme music made me realize I want to spend my life bringing that joy to the world.

Photo by Jayme McColgan on Unsplash

And now, as a marketing executive, I spend a lot of time in meetings discussing feelings — not my feelings, but the feelings of consumers that use my products have versus the feeling we want them to have. It’s during these conversations that the topic of joy…

--

--