Finding The Best In The Worst: How One Decision Changed My Life

John Schaefer
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readJul 10, 2018

10 years ago, I was a reckless daredevil.

I sought endless thrills and excitement, I lived for the next adventure, and there was not a single aspect of the world that could strike fear in my soul. That was until the night of September 1st, 2008.

On this cool summer evening, the last of labor day weekend, my family was grilling out and enjoying the company of one another. The smoke ascended gently from the grill to the heavens and the crackling sound of brats accompanied with the rich smell of fresh vegetables cooking created a euphoric atmosphere.

My 3 brothers and I decided to add another element of entertainment to an already ideal gathering. We grabbed our razor scooters from the garage and began racing back and forth across the smooth, black pavement of our driveway. Music and endless, joyful chatter filled the air as we continued riding for hours.

Then came the decision.

Innocently enough, I decided that although riding scooters in circles was fun, riding scooters off a ramp would be even more fun. My family had located in the back of our garage a plastic, dusty old ramp that must’ve been angled at at least 50 degrees. (For visual purposes, a similar ramp is pictured below)

I wandered carelessly into the back of our carport and used all my youthful might to pull that cynical death trap out into center stage of our family function.

Once assembled, this ramp would be my ticket to the skies, as I would plan to gain as much momentum as a 10 year old possibly can before lifting off. I now faced a decision: should I partake in this next challenge, thrill, and possibility? Before I had time to answer my own inquiry, I was airborne in the sky. I was free, flying through the air; I had successfully conquered my most recent obsta “CRACK!” Uh oh. Not only had I fallen victim to the ramp’s danger, I had cracked my tibia bone in my leg and could not walk. I stood up and felt my bones slide against one another and was unable to move. I realized for the first time in my life that I was not invincible…

Three months later I recovered from this injury, *fully healed*. However, once you have had one injury, I truly believe your body begins to compensate in other ways and you will be faced with a plethora of other injuries down the line unless you are able to recalibrate and rebalance your body. Unfortunately, I was not able to do so.

Over the next six years, I went on to break my collarbone, tear my patella tendon, have multiple stress fractures in my foot, a bursectomy in my back leading to chronic and sporadic back spasms, and many other minor bumps and bruises. These injuries were the result of athletics and my fearless lifestyle.

These injuries oftentimes left me broken and hopeless. However, they shaped my life and provided me a newfound perspective on life, a calling to a career, and endless motivation to be better than I have been in the past.

The results of my decision:

A New Perspective on Life

We oftentimes hear the phrase “your health is your wealth” and it’s absolutely true. Having broken 4 bones and gone through 3 surgeries, I can assure you that without your health, no matter how much money you have, you will never be wealthy in terms of overall happiness and quality of life. I now know how important it is to appreciate the times when you and your loved ones are in good health. The second you lose your health, you will realize how much you took it for granted and how different the world is when you are limited by physical abilities. I also have a greater understanding and sympathy for those who have chronic disabilities. I cannot imagine living life each and every day with physical impairments. It takes an amazing amount of mental fortitude and perseverance to make the most of everything when you are dealing with injuries or illness. Be grateful for your health.

A Calling to a Career

Dealing with all of these injuries at a young age allowed me to meet countless people, especially physicians, physical therapists, doctors, and nurses. I realized quickly after the injuries came to a halt that I needed to spend my life helping kids like me. I know exactly how it feels to be injured and helpless, as a young daredevil and athlete, and I can use this empathy to help kids in that position moving forward. For that reason, I am currently enrolled in a six year doctorate physical therapy program with the hope of eventually affecting the lives of many, such as my former self.

Motivation to be Better Than I Have in the Past

Growing up as a basketball player, I wanted nothing more than to be able to dunk a basketball. It started with a simple desire to touch the net, then it grew into a wild fascination with grabbing the rim, and eventually a dreamlike fantasy of dunking. I never made any serious progress towards this goal before college. I was always a decent athlete, given my circumstances, but nothing extraordinary. I stood 6’2 and about 180 lbs. Every time I would near my goal in high school, an injury would hit. My knee injuries were the most devastating to this goal.

However, once I finally experienced a stretch of 18 months without any injury, I began to get serious about my body. Really serious. I hopped on the elliptical bike and rode every single day. I eventually built my way up to riding 10 miles a day, a routine I would continue for the entirety of my freshman year of college. I was not focused on dunking at this point, rather simply living a healthy life. Then I stepped on the court for the first time in three months to began playing. I shot jump shots, layups, and was getting my feel for the game back. Then, just before I left the gym, for the heck of it, I went up for a dunk (as I had failed miserably thousands of times in the past) and I brutally forced the ball through the rim. That would be the first of many…

I had reached my goal through careful dedication and perseverance. I also realized dunking is incredibly overrated. However, this “can do” mindset has carried over to every aspected of my life. I believe if you work hard and continually do the right things, results will eventually pan out in your favor.

The moral of the story is that things will not also go as planned and even the smallest of decisions can have a tremendous impact on your life. Although the results may seem extremely negative in the heat of the moment, when you step back and look at the overall implications of the situation, you will likely be able to find positive aspects as well.

--

--