Five Reasons You Should Never Stop Asking: “Why?”

Forget about finding an answer, the power is in the question.

Clare Loewenthal
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by niklas_hamann on Unsplash

I was that annoying kid constantly asking: “But why?”

Now I’m an annoying adult still seeking reasons for everything that happens to me.

Whether it’s a failed relationship, a creative challenge, life’s serendipitous course, or a big question like, “Why do bad things happen to good people?” I’m always searching for a reason and a resolution.

Often, it’s a pointless exercise.

Unless we can fall back on faith, I doubt the world will ever gain an intellectual understanding of why life deals out hardship and blessings on a seemingly arbitrary basis. This doesn’t, however, stop my ruminations.

Would my life be lighter if I could just glide along without the constant analysis? Perhaps.

But my reflective nature has opened me up in important ways; moved me closer to the person I want to be.

And now, after years of navel-gazing, I’ve decided that finding an answer is less important than posing a question in the first place.

I’ve discovered five benefits to asking questions, even when answers aren’t delivered, neatly tied up with a big red ribbon:

--

--

Clare Loewenthal
Ascent Publication

I write about business to pay the bills and everything else to seek meaning and truth.